Green Island

Green Island Travel Green Island Travel(Open Window)

The Simple Beauty of Nature

Green Island is 33km from Taitung. It was formed by undersea volcanic activity. The island is covered in hills and coral reefs surround it. This landscape suffers year-round land and sea erosion so the coast takes on a weather-beaten, rugged look. The sea is abundant with different species of coral and tropical fish. What’s more, Green Island has a rare underwater hot spring.

The Rich Island Culture

Green Island was formerly known as Fire Island. More than twenty archeological sites have exposed a large number of stone tools, shells and pottery. It can be safely assumed that human habitation on the island has been consistent for 3000 to 4000 years. Han Chinese began exploration of the island about 200 years ago. Chen Bi-Shien, a resident of Shiauliouchiou brought 30 colonists past Eluanbi to Green Island and landed on the island near Gongguan. They set up houses and gradually more immigrants formed a village and a fishing industry. They established a Bonito industry and raised deer. Later these industries would become the backbone of Green Island tourism.

Hot Spring

Zhaori is not only the East Coast's only hot spring, it is also a world-class saltwater hot spring. There are only three saltwater hot springs in the world: On Kyushu Island in Japan, On Sicily in Italy, and Green Island. Judging from its shape and where the spring occurs, the hot spring may come from the seawater that infiltrates underwater streams and is heated up by the remains of the Green Island Volcano.

Exposed on the southeast side of Green Island, Zhaori Hot Spring, the Japanese called it Asahi Onsen. The spring water is clear and transparent, and the temperature is around 60-70 degrees Celcius. It is slightly acidic due to high levels of sulfate chloride, but it doesn’t have the strong smell of sulfur. It is said that the water makes your skin smooth.There are currently three circular open-air baths. All are well-equipped. During your soak in the hot spring you can stargaze, listen to the waves, watch the sun rise or simply enjoy the solitude.

Cuisine

Aside from the famous seafood and seaweed ice, there are all sorts of traditional cuisine on Green Island. For example there are Choupisuo mountain olives, fried sweet potato with seaweed, fish dumplings and peanut tofu. On the island there are also many different cultures and customs that are related to traditional cuisine. For example the Tszguo (rice cake), which is made during housewarming and temple events, seafood buns for ancestor worshipping and peanut candy for weddings. Therefore, coming to Green Island also means learning their traditional customs.

Culture

Walking around the Green Island: You can easily walk to Nanliao, Chungliao or any other settlement to try their local cuisine. You can also go to Green Island Prison to get a taste of Taiwan’s history. Green Island Prison was built in 1970. It housed Taiwan’s most dangerous criminals. The reason for building the prison on the island was to separate the prisoners geographically from their home in order to reform them. It was said to be Taiwan’s last stop for criminals.reen Island Cultural Park in the northeast corner of the island. It also used to be where political prisoners were kept. In order to remind visitors of Human Rights violations in Taiwan, the East Coast Scenic Area Tourism Bureau dedicated Hill Hall within the prison as an exhibition room. Through videos, documents, historical records and examples of prison conditions, the history of the prison is re-enacted for visitors.

Snorkeling

Green Island is located in the tropics, and is located near the Black Current. Therefore, there are numerous species of fish in the surrounding water. According to the records, the sea around Green Island is home to about 50 families of fish and over 300 species of coral. Most coral reef fish and brightly colored with complex patterns. These beautiful fish swim among the coral and provide for endless hours of snorkeling fun.

Warm, clear, shallow water is ideal for coral growth. Green Island's coral species are abundant and luxurious. Shellfish and crustaceans are also found in large numbers, particularly small mini-shell crustaceans. The coral is one of Green Island’s major attractions.

In addition to undersea coral reefs, the Green Island Central mountains block monsoon rains. When the northeast monsoon comes with turbulent waves, the southwest side of the island remains calm. Scuba divers can still dive during this time. When summer brings the southwest wind, divers can move to the north of the island for more clement conditions. Exept for typhoon days, divers are able to dive year-round.

Green Island Package Tours

  • Biking the East Coast (East Coast + Green Island) Three-day Tour:NT$3090 per person
  • In-Depth Green Island Tour 2-3 Day Tour:NT$2490 – NT$3490 per person on weekdays.
  • Huadong and Green Island Three-Day Tour:NT$6380 – NT$7550 per person
  • Two-Day Green Island Diving Tour:NT$4100 per person

Registration contact

東部海岸國家風景區

離島遊蹤

綠島

質樸美麗的自然風貌

綠島距離台東約33公里,由海底火山噴發所形成,全島丘陵縱橫,島的四周並有隆起的珊瑚礁沿海岸堆積分佈,這些地形因為長年受風化及海潮兩種力量的侵蝕,而呈現出幻化多變的海岸景觀,海域之珊瑚群及熱帶魚類五彩繽紛,更有舉世罕見的海底溫泉,充滿了質樸而美麗的熱帶風貌。

豐富精采的海島文化特色

綠島舊稱「火燒島」,根據島上20餘個史前遺址出土的大量石器、貝器、陶器等,可推知島上在3000~4000年前,人類的活動已相當活躍。漢人的拓墾則始自200年前,小琉球人陳必先率30餘鄉親,乘漁船繞道鵝鑾鼻到達綠島,自公館附近登陸,搭寮居住,之後移民漸多,村落陸續建立,柴魚工廠、梅花鹿養殖與觀光事業接替發展。

溫 泉

朝日溫泉不但是東海岸唯一的溫泉,也是世界級的鹹水溫泉,全世界僅日本九州、義大利西西里和綠島已開發難得的鹹水溫泉。由其產狀和所在地點推測,可能是由於海水或部分地下水滲入地底下,受到綠島火山殘餘岩漿的熱量加熱所形成。

出露在綠島東南邊潮間帶上的朝日溫泉,日治時代稱為「旭溫泉」。泉質澄澈透明,溫度約在60-70度,屬略呈酸性的硫酸鹽氯化物,但無濃烈硫磺味,泡後皮膚光滑不黏澀。目前設有三個圓形露天浴池,以及一個溫泉SPA池。由於周邊設施完善,在泡湯之餘還可觀星、聽濤、看日出,愜意享受另類的溫泉之旅。

美 食

說起綠島美食,除了一般人所熟知的海鮮與海草冰外,更有許多深具地方特色的傳統食材與料理,如綠島人稱為臭屁梭的大葉山欖、地瓜絲炸海菜、魚粽、花生豆腐等。

而在綠島,更存在著許多與文化、習俗息息相關的傳統美食,如過去只有在入厝及廟會才吃得到的茨粿、主要用來祭祀祖先及好兄弟的海鮮包子、結婚時男方用來送給女方的花生糖等。因此,來到綠島,除了飽嚐海鮮外,也別忘了品味濃濃的人情味。

文 化

走在綠島,除了可以優閒遊走南寮、中寮與公館聚落,品味傳統美食與悠閒純樸在地氛圍外,也可以前往綠島監獄和文化園區感受這裡的歷史記憶。綠島監獄興建於1970年,收容全台各監獄難以管教的犯人,設立之初,即是利用外島隔絕的地理環境予以集中嚴格矯治,促使其改過遷善,可說是台灣監獄的最後一道防線。

綠島人權文化園區(目前由國家人權館籌備處經營管理)在東北角一帶,是昔日監禁政治犯的地方,為提醒現代公民維護人權的責任,東管處於2002年將山莊禮堂改裝為展示室,藉由影片、文物、歷史記錄,以及昏暗牢房的時空穿梭,讓歷史浮現。

浮 潛

綠島地處熱帶,且位於黑潮北流之通道上,加上附近有湧昇流存在,因此四周的海洋生物無論在種類或是數量上,都非常豐富。根據調查紀錄,綠島海域之魚類約有50餘科,300餘種,以珊瑚礁魚類為主。珊瑚礁魚類大多色彩鮮明,體色構圖複雜,這些美麗游魚悠遊於珊瑚礁群之間,與五花八門的珊瑚爭奇鬥艷,構成一幅五彩繽紛的海底景觀。

溫暖、清澈的淺海域,是最適合珊瑚的生長環境。綠島的珊瑚種類眾多,覆蓋率高,處處可見生長繁茂的珊瑚林;貝類及甲殼類生物種類亦眾多,尤其沿岸盛產的小型迷你貝,更是綠島的一大特色。

除隨處可見的海底珊瑚礁景觀外,綠島的中央山丘也發揮了阻絕季風的功能:東北季風時節,東北部海域風浪亂流頻起,西南海域仍保持平靜,潛水客可在此徜徉海底花園;而當夏季海上吹起西南風時,則可到北部外礁探險。因此綠島可說除了颱風天外,一年四季均可下水浮潛。

綠島遊蹤套裝遊程專賣區

  • Bike訪東海岸(東海岸+綠島)3日遊:每人3090元
  • 綠島深度探索2-3日遊:平日每人2490、3490元
  • 花東綠島自在采風三日遊:每人6380-7550元
  • 潛進綠島自由行2日遊:每人4100元起
  • 部落慢騎漫遊綠島套裝行程
租賃電動機車參考資訊

報名洽詢